Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2009, 07:53 PM
rajul
My Feedback: (58)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Welcome to Club SAITO !

ORIGINAL: GaGeeBees

ORIGINAL: rajul

It's been some time since I last visited club saito. Good to be back here again.

Anyway, I need to make a grip washer that goes between the thrust washer and spinner backplate of my Saito 125 (the serrations on the thrust washer has worn off). What would be the best type and grit size of sandpaper to use, and what type of glue is best to glue the discs back-to-back?
Use a coarse drywall sanding screen. Works great!
Excellent! What grit size did you use?
Old 01-15-2009, 08:02 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I don't think it matters on the drywall screen
Old 01-15-2009, 09:32 PM
frets24
My Feedback: (15)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Being a plumber I always have mesh sand tape on hand, it's 180 grit, and have used it for "grip washer" on numerous occasions and it' been great. Same as drywall sanding screen only it comes on a roll and is 2 1/4" wide. If you have a sanding bar then you probably have some adhesive back sandpaper for it as well, so you could put a couple pieces of that together if you don't feel like dropping $6.00 on sanding mesh.

on the FA100.... if you are in a dive at 7/8 throttle or more you are probably over reving the engine with any prop combo. the result is floating the valves and likely leaning the mixture due to inability to draw enough fuel to meet the RPM. Either way probably not good. I've always been told that a dive with more than 1/2 throttle is a bad idea for both engine and airframe. the explanations and logic that followed (mostly self explanitory and not expanded on here) sounded good to me so I've pretty much avoided high power dives or excessively steep powered descents.

Any other thoughts on high power dives out there? Have these suggestions just been folklore or do they carry weight?
Old 01-15-2009, 11:11 PM
bonesonpoint